My First Pet

November 10, 2011 iCawlee

The year was 1997 and Christmas  was looking extremely bleak  as  energy costs in my town had risen to a new high.  As the  oldest of  six children  in  a single-parent  household,  I  knew  that  we  likely  wouldn’t  get  much  gifts, if any.

 

Christmas  day  had  arrived  and  I  was  pleasantly  surprised,  as  each  of  us  six  kids  had  at  least  one  present  under  the  tree.  Two  rips  and  one  tear  later  I  had  gotten  through  the  wrapping  of  my  gift.  It  was  Giga  Pet!  It  was  all the  rave  in  electronic  toys  at  the  time  and  was  developed  using  relatively  new  technology.  But  that  wasn’t  my  concern  at  all.  All  I  knew  is  that  I  had  received  a  Giga   Pet  and  I  would  never  let  her  go.

 

My  Giga  Pet  created  social  Bonds  with  myself  and  others  because,  my  sister  had  received  one  as  well.  Me  and  her  played  for  hours  on  end  together,  feeding,  clothing,  and  even  disciplining  our  virtual  pets.  We  honestly  treated  them  as  our  children  and  even  referred  to  them  as  our  babies.

 

My  pet  seemed  to  help  shape  my  identity  as  a  care  giver,  and  it helped  shaped  my  idea  of  self  by  defining  what  I  should  be  capable  of  doing,  which  is  taking  care  of  another  individual.  As  Sutton-Smith  suggests  in  Toys  as  Culture,  looking  back  my  Giga  Pet  definitely  created  an  expectation  to  others  about  how  I  should  and  will  behave.  As  the  eldest  child  I  had  always  had  a  profound  responsibility  to  somewhat  assist  in  taking  care  of  the  younger  children.  My  interaction  with  my  Giga Pet  just  encouraged,  in  a  more  fun  way  the  values  and  actions  my  parents  have  always  expected  of  me.   As  Sutton-Smith  stated,  “toys  are  but  a  part  of  the  message  that  parents  give  themselves  about  their  concern  for  their  children’s  achievement…. (99)”.

 

My  use  of  the  Giga  Pet  ultimately  confirmed  the  values  that  it  was  supposed  to  demosnstrate.  At  such  a  young  age  I  had  not  only  began  to   accept  my  role  as  an  partial  caregiver  but  welcomed  it  and  took  pride  in  my responsibilities.  I  helped  clean  up  after  my  siblings,  assisted  in  meal preparations,  and  organized  assembly  lines  to  and  from  school.

 

I  used  my  Giga  Pet  in  the  way  my  parents  intended  me  too.  And  as  referred  to  in  line  (111), it  was  a  way  in  which   my  parents  communicated  their  life  values  to  me.  I  actually  believe  this  toy  was  an  essential  tool  in  establishing  morals  and  values  I  still  hold  close  to   my  heart.

 

*Jae

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
 
